May Update.

Wow.

So May was quite an emotional month for me pretty much start to finish.

But I did manage to read a total of  43 books (5 were rereads and 2 short stories/novellas).

Um, wow.

Didn’t realize it was that many, and I have two books that I have less than 100 pages left in that I might end up finishing tonight…

The only way I can see how I managed to read that much is when I didn’t have work or plans I was reading (and losing a whole lot of sleep). I literally was reading to escape my own thoughts…

And oh how wonderful that is at times.

So I guess here is to another amazing month of reading and rereading books 🙂

-S

p.s. I am still doing reread for all of Sarah Dessen’s books. Just going through them a lot slower than I planned on. And yes, The Moon and More is taunting me right now from my bookcase. But I know how much it will be worth it to reread all of the books (I have about 4 left. But it’s getting into the ones I haven’t reread that many times so getting super stoked to read them).

The Rules for Disappearing by Ashley Elston

“She’s been six different people in six different places: Madeline in Ohio, Isabelle in Missouri, Olivia in Kentucky . . . But now that she’s been transplanted to rural Louisiana, she has decided that this fake identity will be her last.

Witness Protection has taken nearly everything from her. But for now, they’ve given her a new name, Megan Rose Jones, and a horrible hair color. For the past eight months, Meg has begged her father to answer one question: What on earth did he do – or see – that landed them in this god-awful mess? Meg has just about had it with all the Suits’ rules — and her dad’s silence. If he won’t help, it’s time she got some answers for herself.

But Meg isn’t counting on Ethan Landry, an adorable Louisiana farm boy who’s too smart for his own good. He knows Meg is hiding something big. And it just might get both of them killed. As they embark on a perilous journey to free her family once and for all, Meg discovers that there’s only one rule that really matters — survival.” -Goodreads.com summary

 

Even though at times The Rules for Disappearing was very predictable at times (at least for me… guessed few of the “big” plot twists very easily) it was still pretty good. Am curious how the next book will go because of that ending! Just uh, wow. wasn’t quite expecting what happened in that final chapter…

4 stars.

Read from May 16 to 17, 2013

Received a copy at TLA.

The Boyfriend App by Katie Sise

“In The Boyfriend App by Katie Sise, super-smart, somewhat geeky Audrey McCarthy can’t wait to get out of high school. Her father’s death and the transformation of her one-time BFF, Blake Dawkins, into her worst nightmare have her longing for the new start college will bring.

But college takes money. So Audrey decides she has to win the competition for the best app designed by a high schooler—and the $200,000 that comes with it. She develops something she calls the Boyfriend App, and suddenly she’s the talk of the school and getting kissed by the hottest boys around. But can the Boyfriend App bring Audrey true love?” -Goodreads.com summary

 

Oh wow. So The Boyfriend App was not what I was expecting. Not at all. There was the stuff that happened with boys and such but everything else… It’s hard to explain what exactly it was. But this book in a way reminded me of the Josie and the Pussycats movie. Except switch music industry with an electronics company.

One thing I really didn’t like though was that the phones and such were called BuyPhones… I wish it wasn’t such a close name to Iphones and all off Apples products… Every time I read Buyphone or Buy(whatever) I sorta rolled my eyes…

Overall really liked it.

4 stars.

Read from May 14 to 15, 2013

Received copy at TLA.

 

The Ward by Jordana Frankel

“Sixteen-year-old Ren is a daredevil mobile racer who will risk everything to survive in the Ward, what remains of a water-logged Manhattan. To save her sister, who is suffering from a deadly illness thought to be caused by years of pollution, Ren accepts a secret mission from the government: to search for a freshwater source in the Ward, with the hope of it leading to a cure.

However, she never expects that her search will lead to dangerous encounters with a passionate young scientist; a web of deceit and lies; and an earth-shattering mystery that’s lurking deep beneath the water’s rippling surface.

Jordana Frankel’s ambitious debut novel and the first in a two-book series, The Ward is arresting, cinematic, and thrilling—perfect for fans of Scott Westerfeld or Ann Aguirre.” -Goodreads.com summary

 

I was really surprised by The Ward. Heard buzz about this book but at the same time I didn’t. Like it was added to a lot of tbr piles but not that many have read it.

I loved the whole world building. It really makes you think the what ifs if something like this happened to us. What would happen if a major city got flooded and the buildings are half under water.

Pretty much the only thing I didn’t like was the 1st chapter. I didn’t really get what was going on but once it really got into the story I was sucked in.

Now I just have to wait for the next book… Because I have to know what happens next!

4.5 stars (Rounded up to 5 on Goodreads)

Read from May 13 to 14, 2013

Received a copy at TLA.